Skip to content

The Looming 30’s

March 16, 2011

Eureka! Wait, what was I saying?*

Welcome to the wonderful world of your 30’s. Your personal slide into forgetfulness and embarkation card into the land of wrinkle creams are here, ready and waiting for you. Cripes.

As it is the 16th of March, I have roughly 12.5 days left as a twenty-something. I’m generally fine with turning 30 although I have found myself occasionally pivoting away from nonchalance and into minor-freak-out-land. It’s this whole expectancy that by 30 one should have certain boxes checked and the fact that according to society’s standards, I’ve checked… well, none of them.

I do realise the idiocy of panicking because of a number that represents benchmarks that are defined by others rather than myself. I do. That doesn’t mean, unfortunately, that I am impervious to the odd bout of self-doubt and comparisons to others I know.

On the whole, however, I’m looking forward to it. I think our ‘twenties’ are a confusing time. Sort of like adolescence 2.0 — we don’t always behave more intelligently, but we do think we’re smarter and now have the money to be the idiots we couldn’t financially afford to be in our teens.

I think our ‘thirties’ (well, mine at least) will be a decade of increased self-assurance, heightened couldn’t-give-a-crap-ness and a generally more balanced level of emotional security. That’s not to say it won’t be fun and that there won’t be embarrassing mistakes and funny stories to recount. I mean it’s not like I’m getting a personality transplant, for blog’s sakes! I think I’ll just grow into a more… grounded version of me.

As if on cue, I received some samples from Olay in the mail this morning; samples of some sort of ‘super serum’ that claim to reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles whilst firming the skin. Gee thanks, guys. For the record, I don’t need it yet. And, knock on wood, hopefully I won’t for a while.

I was fortunate enough to inherit my mom’s genes in this department and let’s face it… Asian women tend to age well. Generally speaking they look younger than they are right up until one day, sometime after the age of 60, they wake up one morning and Bam! They look much much older. My mom is – crap, she’s going to kill me if she ever reads this – over 60 and she looks amazing.

In fact, she looks so good that the rest of us in the family are slightly baffled. Granted, she does eat well and practically lives at the gym, but still! The woman is in crazy good shape and looks 10 years younger, if not more, than she actually is. She has also chilled out immensely from the feisty temperamental fire cracker that she once was. To top it off, she has a social life to rival my soon-to-turn-21-years-old sister. All I can say is that when I’m her age, I would be thrilled to look as good and be as outgoing and social as she is.

On that note: here’s to our ‘thirties’, the years that follow and improving with age!

 

N

 

*WordPress Topic #73: Grab the nearest book (or website) to you right now. Jump to paragraph 3, second sentence. Write it in a post.

Bonus: Make up a sentence to follow the first one, but make it go in an entirely different direction that the actual book or website does.

Book: Lessons of a Lipstick Queen
Author: Australian lipstick goddess, Poppy King
Sentence: Eureka!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

