Skip to content

The Local Bikram Weirdo

November 24, 2010

Yesterday was my first ever Bikram class. I woke up this morning feeling sore all over and couldn’t figure out whether the pain was of the ‘this-is-what-happens-when-you’re-insanely-unfit-and-then-finally-exercise’ variety or if I was suffering because I had hurt my bad back and neck when I had pushed through the pain in an attempt to not look like a total weirdo in class yesterday. Seriously though, there’s not much of a point trying to listen to your body when you don’t understand a word of what it’s trying to tell you beyond, “AAaaargh! Pain!”.

I decided to ignore my body altogether and go for another class today. I figure if my body really wants me to understand, it can work on being a little more specific with me. So there I was feeling slightly smug at having made it to my second Bikram class in a row and for having pushed through the pain when I realised that for some idiotic reason I had planted myself smack bang in front of the heater. Not just any heater, but the one and only heater in class which meant that it was going like an oven working on overtime. Feeling rather embarrassed as the incredibly pregnant Bikram instructor pointed this out, I mumbled that no, I was fine where I was. As the minutes passed, I felt my eyeballs begin to dry out and I swore the skin of my face was starting to blister. Soon I was going to burst into a ball of Bikram-induced flames. Perhaps I’d be saved by the buckets of sweat pouring off the rest of my body as the fire from my head made its way south… if I was lucky.

I seemed to have regressed in the flexibility department in the 17.5 hours since my last class. I spent a considerable amount of time trying to not to fall out of Tree Poses and Standing Bow Pulling Poses and Awkward Poses… Awkward Pose? Are you kidding me? They’re all awkward poses! Gaarrrr. Whilst everyone seemed to be squatting elegantly on the point of a single toe whilst balancing the other foot behind their head (or something equally insane), I’m the girl just trying to balance on one leg while my hands struggle to hold my other foot up against my upper thigh.

I’ve just spent the last half an hour complaining about the experience. The thing is that I hate heat, so Bikram and I are already at odds from the get-go. Throw in the obligatory tight-fitting clothing, the copious amounts of sweating in an enclosed room, the tall, skinny pretzel-like women in class and it’s ‘hello and welcome to yoga-hell’. If I can push through the embarrassment and the self-consciousness, though… if I can stick this out, then it should get easier and I should start enjoying the benefits. For now, I’m happy to have finally tried Bikram and I’m looking forward to not playing the part of the local Bikram weirdo.

 

N

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Fennel Cartright permalink
    November 25, 2010 06:07

    Good job going. Keep it up, really be happy you did

  2. Your Sister permalink
    December 14, 2010 00:03

    I’m so unfit!
    Heard you’re gonna go yoga/pilates in Manila? :)

    • December 14, 2010 08:36

      Me too! I had my first pilates session today. It’s one-on-one so there’s no where to hide and she combines pilates work with some cardio. Yikes! Today was alright, but the Thursday session will be 2 hours long. Oh dear….

Leave a Reply

