Skip to content

Das Leben Ganz Allein

August 11, 2010

I’m back in Berlin; something I was really looking forward to as I had spent most of my last stay here “alone”. Unfortunately, as fate would have it, I’m “alone” here again. Perhaps I should, at my age, be better at being alone, but the fact is that I suck at it. Places and experiences are best shared in my opinion. I’m trying to be positive; trying to be thankful for the fact that I am in Berlin and for the fact that I get to travel. It’s a terribly conflicting position to be in when you’re telling yourself to stop being an ungrateful cow and yet you can’t help feeling lonely, alone and miserable. Doesn’t make for a great sightseeing/exploring mindset let me tell you. Truth be told, I’d like to be curled up in bed feeling sorry for myself. Instead I’m sitting on a deck chair with sand under my feet, a Corona in hand and the river Spree in front of me. You see my point? How can I not help feeling a little guilty?


N

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 13:57

    Hi there,

    First of all, yes, it does suck to travel alone – I agree with you completely and I do my best to stay clear of solo travel, however much some people praise it.
    Secondly, a while ago I was in pretty much the same sort of relationship as you and it made me more miserable than happy, though I never voiced my feelings as you do on your blog. In the end it got so frustrating I dumped the guy (it was hard, of course). Where am I today? I found someone who is always there for me…who never leaves.

    Just thought I’d share this with you…

    Denise

    • August 12, 2010 14:24

      Hi Denise,

      Thanks so much for your comment. I appreciate you sharing. Really. Also, I’m glad to hear I’m not alone and crazy for feeling this way! Hopefully things work out one way or another like they did for you.

      In regards to blogging this… well, as you can see I’ve chopped the whole second paragraph. Was I dishonest or unfair in what I said? No, but it felt weird posting something so personal… so, yeah.

      Anyhow, happy travels!

      Nat

Leave a Reply

