Skip to content

Serendipitous Treats

June 19, 2010

I was planning on heading to Bordeaux today.

In typical fashion, however, I left the house late. So I half brisk walked, half galloped to the Langon train station. It’s normally about a 30 minute walk from the house, but I made it there in just under 20. Unfortunately, I still missed the train. By two minutes. D’oh. Talk about embarrassing yourself for nothing. As I sat outside the train station wheezing and trying to catch my breathe, I decided that I wasn’t going to wait four hours until the next train was due to depart (although admittedly I did consider it).

I decided that since I was going to have to walk back anyway, I may as well take a different route and do a bit of exploring. I sure am glad that I did, because out of nowhere I stumbled upon an amazing art supply store and a pâtisserie called Kennedy with the most delectable looking treats. After being told off by one of the Kennedy sales assistants for taking photos – which was ridiculous as one of the other sales assistants had given me permission to take photos not three minutes before – I left the shop with a carry bag and a smile. I then proceeded to the art store, from which I emerged half an hour later… with another carry bag and the smile still going strong.

Along Cours du Général Leclerc and down Rue de Maubec I came across a handful of charming boutiques; some selling local homeware products, others selling funky odds and ends. I even found an early birthday present for my dad along the way. Feeling rather pleased with myself, I headed to the local grocery store to buy some ingredients for dinner: duck breasts, potatoes, garlic and a nice bottle of red.

I think it’s safe to say that L had a rather nice welcome home from his short trip to London: a happy girlfriend, an excited Finn complete with tail-a-wagging, a delicious dinner of pan-roasted magret de canard served with golden potatoes cooked in duck fat, a large glass of red wine and to top it off, a chocolate éclair.

I guess missing the train… sometimes it’s just for the best.

À bientôt!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


KENNEDY (pâtisserie)

Address: 1 Place Kennedy, 33210 Langon, France

Telephone: +33 5 56 63 17 94 ‎


 

N

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 01:17

    E-lec-elerc!

    But seriously, these treats were to die for. The eclair was delicious, and the margret de canard was simply fantastic.

    Yum!

    • November 1, 2010 03:35

      Why thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. Was that not a nice ‘welcome home’ or what? Ahem… if I may say so myself ;)

      Hahaha! E-lec-elerc ;) You know that you’ve brandished that pronunciation on my brain and that I’m never going to be able to pronounce that the right way ever again, right?

Leave a Reply

