Skip to content

Borrowed Thoughts at Twenty-Eight-and-a-Half

March 30, 2010

Yesterday was my birthday and I turned 28 and a half. I’m not quite ready for 29, you see, but I figure that by this time next year I’ll be ready for 30, so why bother myself unnecessarily this year with turning 29?

Anyhow, in my 28.5 years of being, I have learned many a lesson the hard way; AND I find more and more that things I thought I knew, I suddenly ‘know’. It’s like suddenly seeing and understanding all the puzzle pieces in an image that you previously believed to be a singular item. It’s an odd sensation and it lives you feeling rather uncertain. You start wondering how much of what you think you know and understand, you actually do fully grasp. As such, I have decided to borrow some words from other women who knew a thing or two about loving and living.

_____

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

– Marilyn Monroe

_____

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”

– Marilyn Monroe

_____

“I am good, but not an angel. I do sin, but I am not the devil. I am just a small girl in a big world trying to find someone to love.”

– Marilyn Monroe

_____

“I just want to be wonderful.”

– Marilyn Monroe

_____

“I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing alot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.”

– Audrey Hepburn

_____

“Living is like tearing through a museum. Not until later do you really start absorbing what you saw, thinking about it, looking it up in a book, and remembering – because you can’t take it in all at once.”

– Audrey Hepburn

_____

“I invented my life by taking for granted that everything I did not like would have an opposite, which I would like.”

– Coco Chanel

_____

“Some people think luxury is the opposite of poverty. It is not. It is the opposite of vulgarity.”

– Coco Chanel

_____

“When accessorizing, always take off the last thing you put on.”

– Coco Chanel

_____

“Elegance is not the prerogative of those who have just escaped from adolescence, but of those who have already taken possession of their future.”

– Coco Chanel

_____

“How many cares one loses when one decides not to be something but to be someone.”

– Coco Chanel

_____

N

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

