Skip to content

Names and Spaces

February 19, 2010

Over the last week or so, I’ve started working on an idea to combine my background in cooking/the hospitality industry with my skills, qualifications and experience in graphic design and writing. I’ve been doing freelance graphic design for a few years now, but I think it’s time to focus on a particular market, my very own niche. I will be creating corporate identity products (logos, business cards, letterheads, etc), marketing and promotional items (such as menus, flyers, brochures, posters, catalogues, stickers and t-shirts) and copywriting/editing services for those in the food/hospitality industry: from cafes and restaurants to catering companies to boutique breweries. There are so many horrible logos, so many badly written brochures, so many shoddily put together posters… oh, let me rescue you! If not for your sake, then for all of us who must read/look at/decipher your [insert sketchy item type here]. I’m currently working on the logo, website and the oh-so-fun financial and administrative bits. Oh, and fighting the urge to change the name and redo the logo every two hours see links below, it’s all their faults!

Starting out (or re-staring) can be quite daunting and I want to do this right, so I’m doing my homework: researching and getting feedback/input from others. Along the way, I’ve found some informative sites, some very inspiring blogs and some fun reads. I’ve had moments where I’ve felt intimidated to the point of wanting to run in the other direction… but no – chin up, I’m diggin’ in my heels and doing this! I won’t bore you with the details, but I did want to share a couple cool things I found along the way from two of the websites I’ve been browsing.


LINKS:

* The amazing and awesome tongue-in-cheek:

Name My Design Company Machine (Breadline)

Beware! Minutes of your life are likely to vanish unknowingly. Evil Panda Productions… come on! That’s a great name!? Or, or, or… Blue Badger Designs.. what’s wrong with that?! Although I did get Chestnut Banana Ltd one spin… errm… no thanks.


* Clever logos:

By Logo Pond, selected by Breadline Designs


* Very cool collection of logos using negative space:

Negative space in logo design


* Putting a price on your logo design work:

How much is a logo worth?

How much is that logo in the window?

.
.

If anyone has any name ideas, any tips, suggestions or otherwise, please do share!

.
.

N

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

