Skip to content

Pumpkin 2 : Wednesday 1

November 3, 2009

The Pumpkin TriadI love Halloween. No, I’m not American; but damn do I love a holiday. I’ll borrow anyone’s, just you try and stop me! I think growing up in the Philippines and being a TCK (third culture kid) might have something to do with it… any excuse to be festive and celebrate will do. Anyhow, I decided that this year – besides just dressing up (as a last-minute-thrown-together Wednesday Addams) – I would go out and buy myself a pumpkin. I was going to carve it, make pumpkin pie and roast the seeds. And no, I had never done any of those things before; hell, I didn’t even know how to choose a pumpkin (it’s at this particular moment that I’d like to say, “Thank you Google, thank you for oh-so-very-much!”).

You see, the thing is… is that I hate pumpkin. Sure, they can be a nice orange colour… they are kinda cute looking… there’s the whole Cinderella carriage thing… but the taste, the smell, that baby-poo-like texture… ugh! Makes me shudder just thinking about it. Never mind though, I was going to try something new.

So off I went to make my purchases… only, because I am who I am, I came back with three and a half pumpkins instead of the one. I figured the half would be for making the pie and ‘gosh, three jack o’lanterns would look loads better than just the one’. Uh-huh. It is now 3 days later and I have 3 pumpkins keeping each other company in my living room; one is hollowed out, but none are carved. I’m not a squeamish person generally and I have no qualms with, say, cleaning liver (actually I really like cleaning liver – and yes, I know that sounds creepy), but that pumpkin just smelled funky and it was goopy and just wasn’t for me.

Pumpkin Pie 1.0 - NomnOm!I did, however, make pumpkin pie and I did in fact roast the seeds as well – so there! Not a complete failure… and you know what? The pie – not so bad! I quite like it (gasp!). While it still tastes slightly of pumpkin, the cinnamon, all-spice, cloves, etc definitely increase the palatability of the dish. Plus, there’s the maple syrup cream with hazelnut croquant.That definitely helped too! My flatmate doesn’t share my aversion to pumpkin, so he’s “saving me the calories”. Uh-huh. Sure. I think the pumpkin pie recipe could be improved though, so I’m going to tweak it. It’s not like I have a shortage of pumpkins or a lack of willing guinea pigs – errr, I mean, taste testers.

I’ll post the recipe after I’ve given it another try.

Half a pumpkin down and three to go!

N

UPDATE: So, I finally made good on my promise and baked that second pie. There’s no one at home all week, but me though, so… guess it’s all mine! I can hear my thighs sighing in defeat already… oh grief! Ahem, so anyhow, here it is!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

